Hale County Alabama was founded in 1867 and was named in honor of Confederate Civil War Colonel Stephen F. Hale.
Hale County has four incorporated cities; Greensboro, Moundville, Akron, and Newbern.  Greensboro is the largest city and the
county seat of government.  

The first Sheriff, H.C Childress, was sworn into office in 1868.  Hale County has had a total of 24 sheriffs in its one hundred and
fifty t
wo year history. The longest serving Sheriff of Hale County was Sheriff H.C "Chester"  Colvin, who served for 18
consecutive years.
Former Sheriff
Larry G. Johnson  1990  -  2007
Kenneth W. Ellis  2007  -  Present
Former Sheriff
Chester Sims  1955  -  1967